Historical

Created by Ordinance n ° 77-45 / CMLN of July 12, 1977, the interventions of the AMSS in the region of Timbuktu date back to:

 

  • 1st phase or observation or design phase  from 1975 to 1991  : During this phase, the promoters of the AMSS participated especially in the implementation of emergency actions in collaboration with the staff of the "Service Quaker", an American NGO which operated in the Goundam circle from 1975 to 1991  ;

 

  • 2nd phase or phase of creation or actual existence  in 1991.  This American NGO, from the start and as part of the transfer of skills, had planned to give way when the time came, to a local organization. Thus, in 1991, after 16 years of presence in Mali, the Quaker service estimated that the Malian executives with whom it worked during this period acquired the necessary skills to take charge of all the activities that have been carried out. He therefore withdrew to make room for the new NGO, the Malian Association for Survival in the Sahel (AMSS), the creation of which was effective in Bamako on July 12, 1991, the date of the adoption of its statutes and internal regulations. . The AMSS is carried out among other objectives: the establishment of development projects in close collaboration with local populations in order to ensure the promotion and development of basic initiatives as well as the design and execution of any action in favor of of development. Its approach from now on is self-promotion to broadly involve the populations to whom the initiatives of the projects come. At this start, the preferred area of the AMSS was only the Goundam circle. AMSS now participates in support actions for populations affected by drought through emergency aid and rehabilitation actions.

 

  • 3rd phase or phase of partnership development  from 1992. From this year, 1992 already, the AMSS participated in the execution of a vast program of community development in the circle of Goundam in collaboration with its main financial partner (ICCO). Since then, after each three-year program, new orientations are given to the program by mutual agreement with the various partners (AMSS, technical and financial partners and the beneficiaries who are the grassroots communities). The community development program of Goundam gives way to that of Killy in the circle of Goundam and Diré and whose interventions mainly focus on  : activities of operating market gardening areas, sinking of wells, primary health, literacy, construction of grain stores, crafts, support loans to IGAs, organizational and institutional strengthening of organizations in the civil society, support for the implementation of decentralization and democratic governance, etc. It is around this main Killy program that the other programs and projects currently being carried out by AMSS revolve. The ambition of AMSS  remains to contribute to the improvement of the living conditions of the marginalized strata (women and young people) to civic life and to the reduction of poverty by increasing incomes in harmony with the protection of the environment.

 

  • 4th phase or phase of diversification of partnership and intervention area  : From 2003 to date, the AMSS has opted for an opening of these interventions to the entire region of Timbuktu, which it covers entirely today. She intervened mainly in the fields of: hydraulics, agriculture, the promotion of women, health, savings - credit, Education / training, environmental protection, organizational and institutional strengthening. , decentralization and citizenship. Since then, the actions of the AMSS have experienced more expansion each year through the diversification of financial partners, targets and areas of intervention.

 

  • 5th phase or that of trials and rebirth from April 2012  : This phase was first that of anguish and doubt followed by a stage of rehabilitation and renewed hope. At the start of the events, the concern for those in charge of the structure was to ensure the security of their lives and those of their families. All the leaders had dispersed in other localities but through good communication and coordination, today the structure is gradually recovering in  : a) creating an office in Bamako in the absence of the head office fixed in Timbuktu and inaccessible for a while, b) by relaunching contacts with partners and providing them with proof of the feasibility of the activities by presenting the products emanating from the missions of field monitoring. New actions (financing agreements) were even negotiated by the AMSS during this time of suspension, particularly for the implementation of emergency actions.

 

5th phase after conflict or phase of regained hope where several initiatives are being implemented. With the revision of the NGO's framework agreement, AMSS covered in 2016 in addition to the region of Timbuktu, the region of Ségou, Mopti through its Economic Recovery and Governance project.  of Local Affairs and Gao, Kidal, Mopti and Timbuktu with the Social Cohesion Protection and Gender-Based Violence Monitoring project funded by the High Commissioner for Refugees

Historique

Créée par l’Ordonnance n° 77-45/ CMLN du 12 Juillet 1977, les interventions de l’AMSS dans la région de Tombouctou remontent à :

 

  • 1ère phase ou phase d’observation ou de conception de 1975 à 1991 : Pendant cette phase, les promoteurs de l’AMSS participèrent surtout à la mise des actions d’urgence en collaboration avec le personnel du «Service Quaker», une ONG américaine qui a opéré dans le cercle de Goundam de 1975 à 1991 ;

 

  • 2ème phase ou phase de création ou d’existence proprement dite en 1991.  Cette ONG Américaine, dès au départ et dans le cadre du transfert des compétences, avait programmé de céder le moment venu, la place à une Organisation locale. C’est ainsi, qu’en 1991, après 16 ans de présence au Mali, le service Quaker a estimé que les cadres maliens avec lesquels il a travaillé pendant cette période ont acquis les compétences nécessaires pour la prise en main de toutes les activités qui ont été menées. Il s’est donc désengagé pour faire place à la nouvelle ONG, l’Association Malienne pour la survie au Sahel (AMSS) dont la création a été effective à Bamako le 12 juillet 1991, date de l’adoption de ses statuts et règlement intérieur. L’AMSS se fait entre autre objectif: la mise en place des projets de développement en étroite collaboration avec les populations locales afin d’assurer la promotion et le développement des initiatives de base ainsi que la conception et l’exécution de toute action en faveur du développement. Son a approche désormais est l’auto promotion pour faire participer largement les populations auxquelles reviennent les initiatives des projets. A ce démarrage, la zone de prédilection de l’AMSS était uniquement le cercle de Goundam. L’AMSS participe désormais aux actions de soutiens aux populations victimes de la sécheresse à travers les aides d’urgence et les actions de réhabilitation.

 

  • 3ème phase ou phase du développement de partenariat à partir de 1992. A partir de cette année, 1992 déjà, l’AMSS participe à l’exécute d’un vaste programme de développement communautaire dans le cercle de Goundam en collaboration avec son partenaire financier principal (ICCO). Depuis lors, après chaque programme triennal, de nouvelles orientations sont données au programme de commun accord avec les différents partenaires (AMSS, partenaires techniques et financiers et les bénéficiaires qui sont les communautés à la base). Le programme de développement communautaire de Goundam cède sa place ă celui du Killy dans le cercle de Goundam et Diré et dont les interventions portent essentiellement sur : des activités d’exploitation de périmètres maraîchers, le fonçage des puits, la santé primaire, l’alphabétisation, les constructions de magasins céréaliers, l’artisanat, les prêts d’appui aux AGR, le renforcement organisationnel et institutionnel des organisations de la société civile, l’appui à la mise œuvre de la décentralisation et la gouvernance démocratique etc. C’est autour de ce principal programme du Killy que gravitent les autres programmes et projets qui sont présentement exécutés par l’AMSS. L’ambition de l’AMSS  reste de contribuer à l’amélioration des conditions de vie des couches marginalisées (les femmes et les jeunes) à la vie civique et à la réduction de la pauvreté par l’accroissement des revenus en harmonie avec la protection de l’environnement.

 

  • 4ème phase ou phase de diversification de partenariat et de zone d’intervention : A partir des années 2003 à ce jour, l’AMSS a opté pour une ouverture de ces interventions à l’ensemble de la région de Tombouctou qu’elle couvre entièrement de nos jours. Elle intervenait principalement dans les domaines de : l’hydraulique, l’agriculture, la promotion de la femme, la santé, l’épargne – crédit, l’Education/la formation, la protection de l’environnement, le renforcement organisationnel et institutionnel, la décentralisation et la citoyenneté. Depuis lors, les actions de l’AMSS connaissent chaque année davantage d’expansion à travers la diversification des partenaires financiers, les cibles et les zones d’intervention.

 

  • 5ème phase ou celle des épreuves et de la renaissance à partir d’avril 2012 : Cette phase a été d’abord celle d’angoisse et de doute suivie d’une étape de réadaptation et d’espoir retrouvé. Au début des évènements, le souci pour les responsables de la structure était d’assurer la sécurisation de leur vie et de celles de leurs familles. Tous les responsables s’étaient dispersés dans d’autres localités mais à travers, une bonne communication et coordination, aujourd’hui la structure se redresse progressivement en : a) créant un bureau à Bamako à défaut du siège social fixé à Tombouctou et inaccessible depuis un moment, b) en relançant les contacts avec les partenaires et leurs fournissant une preuve de la faisabilité des activités par la présentation des produits émanant des missions de suivi du terrain. De nouvelles actions (accords de financement) ont mêmes été négociées par l’AMSS pendant ce moment de suspension pour particulièrement la mise en œuvre des actions d’urgence.

 

5ème phase après conflit ou phase de l’espoir retrouvé ou plusieurs initiatives sont en cours d’exécution. Avec la révision de l’accord cadre de l’ONG, AMSS a couvert courant 2016 en plus de la région de Tombouctou, la région de Ségou, Mopti à travers son projet Relance Economique et Gouvernance  des Affaires Locales et Gao, Kidal, Mopti et Tombouctou avec le projet de Monitoring protection cohésion sociale et violence basée sur le genre sur financement du Haut-commissariat pour les réfugiés